Bio

I was born 36 years ago in the Finnish Lapland, on the border of Sweden. I grew up living in a small Finnish town with close ties to the neighbouring country and language. When I was 16 I decided I wanted to see what else there was in the world. Inspired by my love for music my favorite band being The Cranberries and I signed up for a year in Ireland. I have yet to see Ireland, because in -99 I ended at the Appalachian Mountains in Virginia, USA.

Looking at the world today, getting immersed in the American everyday life was a great learning experience that helps me understand i.e. the North-American way of life and the political climate. The American experience can also be heard in my accent, which sometimes confuses people of my origin. I’m a Finn from Lapland who speaks English with an American accent, but who has got traces of English philology studies showing occasionally in their speech and word choices.

Another chance encounter in life has resulted in love and eventually to Reykjavík, Iceland, where I currently live. Previously I was the leader of Seta – LGBTI Rights In Finland, and now on ILGA-Europe’s board of executives and lead the Icelandic trans rights organization called Trans Ísland (Trans Iceland).

Previously my studies have included cultural management and community education and youth work. I am an active citizen and i.e. I am a co-founder of three organizations: Lahden Seta (a member organization of Seta), The Feminist Party in Finland and also its Helsinki based regional member organization called Feministinen puolue Helsinki.

I’m a vegan who supports animal rights. I will always listen to others and use my voice to speak up against rasism, fascism, xenophobia, homophobia, biphobia, enbyphobia, queerphobia, misogyny, autoritarianism, totalitarianism, hate speech, violence. (None of which are real phobias.) Out with the bad, in with the love.

Activism is my life, work and hobby, but I have some other interests, too. You can spot me at the queer drag and burlesque shows and scenes in Helsinki or in Reykjavík swimming, playing board games, drawing, reading, crafting or fixing things around the house. I’m also always up for a game of Finnish baseball, soccer, badminton, or pool. I’ve also got some hidden talent as 50% of a pinball duo.